Articles Comments

LGA 2011 vs LGA 1155 Sockets

The LGA 2011 socket is used in the high end Intel’s Sandy Bridge processors while the LGA 1155 is used in the mainstream Sandy Bridge ( as well as the forthcoming Ivy Bridge) processors. The LGA 1155 has been in existence for a while. The LGA 2011 is a recent release, to support the Sandy Bridge E-Series Processors.

Background and need of the LGA 2011

The Sandy Bridge E-Series Processors have quad channel memory controller as opposed to dual channel in regular Sandy Bridge. The quad channels increases the memory transfer rate. However, they also require many more pins to support the additional 2 memory channels.

The Sandy Bridge E-processors also add PCIe 3.0 support, and increases the number of PCIe lanes from 16 to 40 lanes. Obviously all this require more number of pins in the socket. The Block diagram shows a Sandy Bridge E-Processor.

A quick comparison of the LGA 2011 with vanilla LGA 1155 is presented in the Table below.

Table : LGA 2011 vs LGA 1155 Sockets Quick Comparison

Feature LGA 2011
LGA 1155
Number of Pins
2011 1155
Size of Socket
52.5 mm x 42 mm 37.5 mm x 37.5 mm
Number of Memory Channels
4 2
Number of PCI Lanes
40 16


Besides the Sandy Bridge E- Processors the LGA 2011, the socket will also support the future Ivy Bridge E- Processors and the E5 Series Xeon Processors.

Further suggested readings

– Check the list of the Sandy Bridge E processors and the Xeon E5 processors supported by the LGA 2011 socket.

– Check out the – Sandy Bridge Architecture.

Related posts:

  1. PIC 12F510 microchip Microcontroller

One Response

  1. bd online education says:

    The largest Elearning Site of Bangladesh

Leave a Reply